Prevent running MaintenanceMode from being overwritten
Using the Maintenance Mode Scheduler that came with SCOM 2016 is pretty cool but there is no mechanism to detect if a server is already in MM. If we put a server in maintenance mode e. g. for 48 hours and someone else doesn't know this and schedules another MM let's say for 2 hours then the ealier scheduled MM of 48 hours will be overwritten and the MM ends after the 2 hours. So there should be a logic which checks if a MM is already set and how long. If the newly scheduled time period is shorter than the one already scheduled then it will be ignored.
Please upvote this idea and leave in comments if you would like this behavior to change. If you don’t want this change, then please add a comment about that too. Thanks.
In my opinion overwriting a MM schedule should be allowed but it should prompt the user if they want to overwrite the existing schedule, add to the existing schedule.
Vincent Hoo Choon How commented
We need this change.